Emerging Writers’ Festival, along with Hachette Australia and the Richell family, are honoured to present The Richell Prize for Emerging Writers for 2023, supported by Simpsons Solicitors.. After receiving over

700 entries, we are delighted to announce the 20 writers on this year’s longlist.

The 2023 longlisted writers are:

  • Ada Lester
  • Adele Rickerby
  • Alex Sawyer
  • Carrick Tomlin
  • Chamberlain Zhang
  • Eleanor Garran
  • Franklin Richards
  • Hannah Goldstein
  • Jessica Sousa Ornelas
  • Karen Johnson
  • Kathy Sharpe
  • Lucy Nelson
  • Luisa Mitchell
  • Madhukar Nallamani
  • Nick Gilpin
  • Olivia Dezilva
  • Shashini Gamage
  • Svetlana Sterlin
  • Tee Lindon
  • Victoria Manifold

The writers on the longlist will be judged on the first three chapters of their submitted work, along with a synopsis outlining the direction of the proposed work and details about how the author’s writing career would benefit from winning the Prize.

The winner will receive $10,000 in prize money, to be donated by Hachette Australia, along with a 12-month mentorship with one of Hachette Australia’s publishers. Hachette Australia will work with the winning writer to develop their manuscript with the first option to consider the finished work and the shortlisted entries for publication.

The judging panel includes Lindy Jones, from Abbey’s Bookshop; Nadia Johansen, editor and writer; David Parritt, from the Book People; Vanessa Radnidge, publisher at Hachette Australia; and Hannah Richell, bestselling author.

The shortlist will be announced on 10 October, with the winner announced on 2 November.

Hachette Australia and Hannah Richell would like to thank The Emerging Writers’ Festival who have worked with them to make this Prize a reality. The Emerging Writers’ Festival would also like to thank Simpsons Solicitors for assisting them financially with the administration of the Prize.

The Richell Prize honours and continues the support of emerging writers that former Hachette CEO Matt Richell was always passionate about. Thank you to all the brave writers who entered the award and congratulations to all the longlisted writers.

Learn more about the Richell Prize for Emerging Writers here.