The Emerging Writers’ Festival work, learn and play largely on the land of the Kulin nation, and pay our respects to their Elders, past and present.

EWF celebrates the history and creativity of the world’s oldest living culture.

Enter site

Support the future of Australian storytelling

For 20 years, the Emerging Writers’ Festival has supported emerging writers, celebrated creativity and innovation, nurtured new talent and represented diverse voices from across Australia.

Over the last few years, EWF has worked quickly to adapt to the changing circumstances at hand, embracing digital platforms and delivering our festival program online.

In 2023, we’re excited to celebrate new stories, new voices and new worlds through a hybrid festival of in-person and digital events.

Donations of any size are powerful, and we hope you will make a contribution to our donation drive. Whether you’re an emerging creative who wants to see EWF thrive, or an EWF alum who has seen the value of the festival since your early days, every amount is an enormous help. Each contribution helps us create a better festival and future for the voices of tomorrow.

EWF is a not-for-profit organisation and registered charity with deductible gift recipient (DGR) status – all donations over $2 are tax deductible. All donations over $20 will be recognised with a heartfelt thank you and mention on the EWF website.

If you would like more information on how you can support the Emerging Writers’ Festival, please contact Jes Layton here.

Thank you to all our generous 2023 supporters

Patty Abalos, Alexandra Almond, Andie Awad, Emma Batchelor, Ingrid Baring, Neeti Bekele, Jacinta Blanch, Nikki Brooke, Claire Butler, Fran Berry, Cathy Brigden, Caroline Coles, Duncan Corrigan, George Cox, Tracey Cromby, Chris Chaplin, Olivia Chung, Jason Craig, Alex Creece, Kate Cuthbert van der Veer, William Dawson, Zowie Douglas-Kinghorn, Tim Duggan, Jayden D’Angelo, Selina Domingo, Bernadette Evans, Ione Fern, Tim Fisher, Marina Farnan, Nichola Flaherty, Jayde Fletcher, Danielle Forer, Enza Gandolfo, Karen Gardner, Lachie Glasco, Anita Goldspink, Monique Grbec, Lucy Hamilton, Victoria Hannan, Emma Hartley, Louise Harris, Eamonn Harte, Sebastian Heiche, Alysha Herrmann, William Huang, Philippa Hawker, Helen Hayden, Sherryn Hind, Rowena Hutson, Renee Imbesi, Naomi Johnson, Rachel Jones, Ameel Khan, Robin Laurie, Tessa Lim, Michael Livingston, Rebecca MacFarling, Natasha Miles, Virginia Muzik, Brigid Magner, Judie Mitchell, Beth Muldoon, Liz Murray, Linda Nguyen, Patricia O’Reilly, Radha OMeara, Kate O’Halloran, Tracy O’Shaughnessy, Kimberley Pearce, Kim Powell, Mark Pazolli, Stephen Rebikoff, Mary Reid, Selena Repanis, Craig Semple, Cara Sputore, Georgia Symons, Eliza Ross-Smith, Michelle See-Tho, Carina Slavik, Rohan Spong, Carolyn Stephens, Adeline Teoh, Jon Tjhia, Fiona Taylor, Inez Trambas, Katherine Tyson, CJ Vallis, Alisa Vescio, Toni Wallis, Panda Wong, Nicole Weatherill, Hannah Young and Mekdes Yimam.