After receiving over 850 entries to the 2021 Richell Prize, we are delighted to announce the 16 writers on this year’s longlist.

Hachette Australia, along with the Richell family, is honoured to present The Richell Prize for Emerging Writers for 2021, in partnership with the Emerging Writers’ Festival.

Congratulations to these 2021 Richell Prize longlisted writers:

  • Ben Randall
  • Bridget Lutherborrow
  • Brigita Ozolins
  • Danae Sweetapple
  • Emma Di Bernardo
  • Jessica Kirkness
  • Kate James
  • Kay Harrison
  • Lisa Guest
  • Natasha Agafonoff
  • Odette Des Forges
  • Paul Marshall
  • Rebecca Howden
  • Sarah Fiddelaers
  • Simone Jordan
  • Zachary Pryor

The writers on the longlist will be judged on the first three chapters of the submitted work, along with a synopsis outlining the direction of the proposed work and details about how the author’s writing career would benefit from winning the Prize.

The winner will receive $10,000 in prize money, to be donated by Hachette Australia, along with a 12-month mentorship with one of Hachette Australia’s publishers. Hachette Australia will work with the winning writer to develop their manuscript with first option to consider the finished work and shortlisted entries for publication.

The judging panel includes Katy Downey, from The Leaf Bookshop; Robbie Egan, from the Australian Booksellers Association; Jasmin McGaughey, editor and writer; Vanessa Radnidge, publisher at Hachette Australia; and Hannah Richell, bestselling author.

The shortlist will be announced on October 8, with the winner announced on November 4.

Hachette Australia and Hannah Richell would like to thank The Emerging Writers’ Festival for making this Prize a reality. The Emerging Writers’ Festival would also like to thank Simpsons Solicitors for assisting them financially with the administration of the Prize.

This Prize brings together a group of people to continue the support of emerging writers – something that Matt Richell was always passionate about. Without the brave writers who enter there would be no Prize, so congratulations to all the longlisted writers.

Learn more about the Richell Prize for Emerging Writers here.