Hachette Australia, along with the Richell family, is honoured to present the Richell Prize for Emerging Writers for 2020, in partnership with The Guardian Australia and The Emerging Writers’ Festival.

After receiving over 800 entries to the 2020 Richell Prize, we are excited to announce the five writers on this year’s shortlist.

The 2020 shortlisted writers are:
‘The Boy Who Wept Rabbits’ by Benjamin Forbes
‘Petrichor’ by Aisling Smith
‘Meddies’ by Kerry Jewell
‘Flaring Out’ by Scott Limbrick
‘Cities of Refuge’ by Mark Hennessy

‘From a strong longlist, Hachette is so pleased that five brilliant submissions have been shortlisted for this year’s Richell Prize. All shortlisted writers are from Victoria, which is rather fascinating, although I will resist speculating about whether the state’s extended lock down has created more time for writing this year. The Richell Prize goes from strength to strength and we are pleased that we continue to unearth great Australian writing talent and provide mentoring to support the winning writer on their journey towards publication. Readers have never been more interested in new Australian writers and stories. We are pleased that the Richell Prize plays a part in bringing Australian writers to the public’s attention. Congratulations to all the shortlisted writers,’ said Louise Sherwin Stark, CEO, Hachette Australia.

‘We are so impressed by the array of talent encompassed by the Richell Prize’s shortlisted writers. These compelling voices are all ones to watch, displaying powerful ideas and a great breadth of creativity,’ added Alice Muhling, Executive Director, Emerging Writers’ Festival

The winner will receive $10,000 in prize money, to be donated by Hachette Australia, along with a 12-month mentorship with one of Hachette Australia’s publishers. Hachette Australia will work with the winning writer to develop their manuscript with first option to consider the finished work and shortlisted entries for publication. As well as promoting the prize, The Guardian Australia will publish an extract of the first chapter of the winning work and a profile on the winning writer. The winner will be announced online on November 9.

The 2020 judging panel includes Vanessa Radnidge, Publisher at Hachette Australia; Hannah Richell, bestselling author of The River Home; Galina Marinov, Member Services Development  at the Australian Booksellers Association; and Jon Page, General Manager at Dymocks Sydney.

Hachette Australia and Hannah Richell would like to thank The Emerging Writers’ Festival and The Guardian Australia for partnering with them to make this prize a reality. The Emerging Writers’ Festival would also like to thank Simpsons Solicitors for assisting them financially with the administration of the prize.

This prize brings together a group of people who know what a huge supporter of emerging writers Matt Richell was. Without the writers there would be no prize – so congratulations to everyone on the shortlist.